Current track




MDR Breakfast Club (24th June ’20)

James Sims


Melodic Distraction welcomes a morning broadcast during our time of quarantine.

If you’re working from home, chilling at home, or generally just staying at home, our Breakfast Club is here to share a brew with you. Hosted by a rotation of some of the station’s family and friends, 10am-12midday every weekday, our airwaves are full of excellent tunes, local music and questionable patter.

Nestled right after our daily morning show 9-10am, Wake Up with Melodic Distraction, and before Elliot Fergusons’s Red Brick Picnic lunch hour, 12midday – 1pm, we’re filling our now-solitary morning hours with radio family.

Dharma Collective don James Sims is back at the wheel for MDR’s Breakfast Club, laying down a perfect summery concoction of jazz, funk and more! So grab an iced tea, slap on the suncream, sit back in the garden and enjoy!

HNNY – So Good
Unknown Artist – Albatros
Amanita – Sol y Sombra
Koichi Sakai – Yamb
Till Von Sein – Graceland
Alma Negra – Berimbau
The Elder Statesman – Trans-Alpine Express
The Main Ingredient – Summer Breeze
Brasilewis – Inferno
Gal Costa – Bahia, Minha Preta
Gilberto Gil – E Menina
Judith Ravitz – Yom Halndianim
Risque – Starlight (Extended)
Lynda Dawn – Arise (Reprise)
Minnie Riperton – Young, Willing & Able
Marcus Resende & Index – Vidigal
New Sector Movements – The Sun
Gordon Koang – Mal Mi Goa
Bobby Hutcherson – La Malanga (Kenny Dope Remix)
Deodato – Whistle Bump
Rebbie Jackson – Centipede
Majesty’s Pleasure – Nervous
L.U.P.O – Keep It Up
Dizzy K – Excuse Me Baby
Jaime Lynn – You Ain’t Got No Money (Twice & Volcov edit)
Dino Soccio – The Soccio Elegance edit
Jorge Ben – Xico Da Sila

MDR’s Breakfast Club

Chat room crew, assemble!

More info