Current track




Alex Spiers is an experienced DJ and non-musician originally hailing from Bellshill, Scotland.

After relocating to Liverpool in 2002, he co-founded the HIVE collective (2003-2015), a group of audio and visual artists that have been at the forefront of developing innovative electronic music and performance in the city. He is an original member of the psych noise collective Bonnacons of Doom and provided DJ support for a diverse range of artists like  Optimo, Ben Frost, Jah Wobble, Alva Noto, The Bug, Fennesz, David Holmes, Philip Jeck and many more. He has also played at venues and events across the UK such as Sub Club (Glasgow), The Kazimier and Tate Gallery for the Turner Prize in 2008. He is a keen participant in the arts and is a regular contributor to The Dark Outside, singing in Bill Drummond’s final The 17 choir as well as performing in the Speed of Light  for NVA. 

The Path is a guided tour through an eclectic mix of soothing and unique electronic sounds. Alex likes a good theme and occasionally invites special guests to share their knowledge and passion. A lover and collector of the black stuff, so expect hiss dirt and crackle to add to the soundscape. Ready for a walkabout?

This month Alex says goodbye to 2020 with two hours of ambient, downtempo and field recordings.

BBC Sound Effects – Summer Crowd (BBC records, 1972)
Global Communication – 12:18 ( Dedicated, 1994)
Y03 – Liquid Flow (GPR, 1994)
Lord of the Isles – Passing feat Ellen Renton (Whities, 2020)
Ben Frost – Simulacra II ( Bedroom Community, 2011)
Daniel Avery & Allessandro Cortini – Illusion of Time ( Phantasy, 2020)
CS & Kreme – Saint (Trilogy Tapes, 2020)
Suicide – Cheree (remix) (Blast First, 1977/2008)
Donnacha Costella – Devotion (Ursa, 2012)
Misty Dixon – The Beautiful Ones ( Rex Records, 2001)
To Rococo Rot – Red (City Slang, 2001)
Warp 69 – Natural High ( Global Communication mix) (Fierce, 1997)
Four Tet – Glasshead (Output, 1999)
CIM – Disk Three (DeFocus, 2000)
ATOM – Fototienda (Plaid mix) (Quatermass, 2001)
A Guy Called Gerald – Emotions Electric (Peel Session) (Strange Fruit, 1989)
People like Us – When I was Young ( For Us, 2002)
Vengloss Advocatt – For the CIA (Diskono, 1999)
Mount Florida – Riot on Jamaica Street ( Matador, 2000)
Pye Corner Audio – Resist (Lapsus, 2017)
Autechre – Djarum (Warp, 1994)
Vanessa Worm – In heaven we are (Optimo Music, 2020)

The Path

An eclectic mix of electronic sounds

More info