Current track




The Path (June ’20)

Alex Spiers

Alex Spiers is an experienced DJ and non-musician originally hailing from Bellshill, Scotland.

After relocating to Liverpool in 2002, he co-founded the HIVE collective (2003-2015), a group of audio and visual artists that have been at the forefront of developing innovative electronic music and performance in the city. He is an original member of the psych noise collective Bonnacons of Doom and provided DJ support for a diverse range of artists like  Optimo, Ben Frost, Jah Wobble, Alva Noto, The Bug, Fennesz, David Holmes, Philip Jeck and many more. He has also played at venues and events across the UK such as Sub Club (Glasgow), The Kazimier and Tate Gallery for the Turner Prize in 2008. He is a keen participant in the arts and is a regular contributor to The Dark Outside, singing in Bill Drummond’s final The 17 choir as well as performing in the Speed of Light  for NVA. 

The Path is a guided tour through an eclectic mix of soothing and unique electronic sounds. Alex likes a good theme and occasionally invites special guests to share their knowledge and passion. A lover and collector of the black stuff, so expect hiss dirt and crackle to add to the soundscape. Ready for a walkabout?

This month Alex shares a selection of familiar found sounds, snippets of dialogue and soothing electronic ambience to massage the mind, during this sun drenched lockdown. Lie down and float on.

Land Trance – Chilean Miners (Dense Truth, 2020)
JD Twitch – Tries So Hard (Unreleased, 2014)
Suzanne Kraft – 7.30 (in pads) (Running Back, 2014)
Alabaster DePlume – Everybody loves to Cry (Bandcamp, 2020)
The Caretaker – Its all Forgotten Now (VVM TEST, 2003)
Lord of the Isles (feat Ellen Renton) – Passing (Whities, 2020)
Skyray – Neptune Variations PtII (Ochre, 1997)
Yellow Magic Orchestra -Light into Darkness (Epic, 1981)
Bruce Haack – Program Me (Coumbia, 1970)
Organs of Love – FaceFuck (Optimo Music, 2016)
Jeefr – Jihad (2004, unreleased)
Algiers – Can the sub-bass speak (Matador, 2020)
Black Quantum Futurism – Wading for the hour (Bandcamp, 2020)
Beautyon – Yes UFOs (Irdial Discs, 1995)
Coil – Where is your Child (after Bam Bam) (unreleased)
Depeche Mode – Black Day (Mute, 1986)
Themselves – Devil You (Alias Mix (Anticon,2003)
Craig Leon – Nommos (Superior Viaduct, 1981)
Steve Reich – Six Marimbas (Warp, 2006)
Nina Simone – Mississipi Goddam

The Path

An eclectic mix of electronic sounds

More info